Thinking of Joining USA Triathlon?

Be a part of our 550,000 member community of multisport athletes. Membership benefits include a subscription to the quarterly USA Triathlon magazine, discounts from USA Triathlon partners, inclusion in the national rankings, excess accident insurance at events, and savings at races. To see why you should join or renew today, visit the membership benefits page. Already a member? Login below.

Forgot Your Password? | Login Help

Certified coaches must recertify every two years in order to remain informed on the latest knowledge and expertise and to provide service and support for developing USA Triathlon coaching programs and triathlon in general. Recertification also provides an accountability for maintenance of the coaching certification.

USA Triathlon Certified Coaches must submit their recertification packets by their certification expiration date. Coaches who do not submit recertification materials by their expiration date are not eligible for recertification under the normal recertification policy. Please see the bottom of this page for the late recertification policies. If you have any questions regarding the recertification policy, please contact the Coaching Certification Coordinator.

In order to recertify, coaches must complete:

Recertifications must be completed online through USAT University.  Paper submissions are not accepted. 
Level I Recertification Process Directions

Recertifications are due December 31st at 11:59 PM Mountain Time in order to be considered on time (1:59 AM Eastern Time, 12:59 AM Central Time, 10:59 PM Pacific Time). Coaches receive a new certificate within 4-6 weeks of submission.

Late Recertification Policy

Late recertification submitted January 1 - March 31, 2014: A $50 late fee is required (in addition to $95 recertification fee and recertification requirements fulfilled) to be reinstated as current.

Late recertification submitted April 1 - December 31, 2014: Coaches must complete 5 more USAT approved Continuing Education Credits on top of their already required amount. In addition, coaches must pay the late fee and complete all the regular recertification requirements. 

Late recertification submitted after December 31, 2014 (one year after recert is due): Coaches must retake the coaching certification exam that coincides with their coaching level and pay the $100 fee to take the exam. In addition, coaches must complete all the requirements listed above as well as the regular recertification requirements. 

Late recertification submitted after December 31, 2015 (two years after recert is due): Coaches must retake the highest level clinic they have attended and complete all the requirements that are required to attend a clinic of their coaching level. 


    Active.com