Thinking of Joining USA Triathlon?

Be a part of our 550,000 member community of multisport athletes. Membership benefits include a subscription to the quarterly USA Triathlon magazine, discounts from USA Triathlon partners, inclusion in the national rankings, excess accident insurance at events, and savings at races. To see why you should join or renew today, visit the membership benefits page. Already a member? Login below.

Forgot Password | Help Renew Membership Become a Member

USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series

USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships – Sept. 11, 2014

Find complete Super Sprint Las Vegas results here

Finals Heats

Male A Final
(9 p.m.) 
Female A Final
(8 p.m.) 
Male B Final
(7 p.m.) 
Female A Final
(6 p.m.)

Aaron Royle (AUS)

Paula Findlay (CAN) Ian Boggs (USA) Katie Hursey (USA) 
Tommy Zaferes (USA) Erin Densham (AUS) Ryan Bice (USA) Sara McLarty (USA) 
Ben Kanute (USA) Sarah Groff (USA) John O'Neill (USA) Julie Stupp (USA)
Joe Maloy (USA) Erin Jones (USA) Mauro Cavanha (BRA) Julia Hauser (AUT)
Eric Lagerstrom (USA) Chelsea Burns (USA) Andrew Bysice (CAN) Nicole Truxes (USA)
Alan Webb (USA) Barbara Riveros (CHI) Felipe Van de Wyngard (CHI)
Renee Tomlin (USA)
Alex Libin (USA) Lindsey Jerdonek (USA) Jason Pedersen (USA)
Sinead O'Dwyer (USA)
Jarrod Shoemaker (USA) Kaitlin Donner (USA) Davide Giardini (USA)
Zara Guinard (USA)
Sean Jefferson (USA) Kirsten Kasper (USA) Justin Roeder (USA)

Conor Murphy (IRL) Kirsten Sweetland (CAN) Bill Jones (USA)  

With USA Triathlon and KANGA Productions. the Las Vegas Convention Center in Las Vegas, Nev., hosted the USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships, an exciting short-course, draft-legal race on Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014.

Contested in a super-sprint format under the lights outside the Las Vegas Convention Center, elite athletes completed two continuous, non-stop circuits of the same course, each comprised of a 300-meter pool swim, 8k bike and 2.5k run to claim their share of a $70,000 prize purse.

This draft-legal race format is a platform for elite athletes to showcase their explosive speed, stamina and bike handling skills on a technical course while giving spectators the opportunity to see some of the world’s best professional triathletes race elbow-to-elbow in a self-contained venue.

The event, officially designated as the 2014 USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Championships, was televised nationally  by Universal Sports Network.

Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014


  • Draft-legal format
  • Heats: 300m swim (1 lap) / 8k bike (7 laps) / 2.5k run (3 laps) – 1 time through
  • Final: 300m swim (1 lap) / 8k bike (7 laps) / 2.5k run (3 laps) - 2 times through

Race Capacity
The invitation-only elite field, consisting of 30 men and 30 women, competed for a total of $70,000 in prize money, more than double the amount awarded at this event in 2013. A $62,500 prize purse was shared equally between the overall men’s and women’s fields, with the winners earning $10,000. The top 15 finishers earned a portion of the overall prize purse. Additionally, $7,500 was shared among the top three U.S. men and women for the Elite Sprint Nationals podium.

Competitors - Women
Chelsea Burns (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Summer Cook (Thornton, Colo.)
Erin Densham (AUS)
Kaitlin Donner (Satellite Beach, Fla.)
Paula Findlay (CAN)
Sarah Groff (Hanover, N.H.)
Zara Guinard (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Julia Hauser (AUT)
Bailey Hinz (Las Vegas, Nev.)
Katie Hursey (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Lindsey Jerdonek (Sagamore Hills, Ohio)
Erin Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Kirsten Kasper (Marietta, Ga.)
Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.)
Sinead O'Dwyer (Boulder, Colo.)
Barbara Riveros (CHI)
Kirsten Sweetland (CAN)
Renee Tomlin (Ocean City, N.J.)
Nicole Truxes (Tempe, Ariz.)
Melinda Vernon (AUS)
Laurel Wassner (New York, N.Y.)

Competitors - Men
Armando Abaunza (PAN)
Casey Bateman (BIZ)
Nick Bernal (San Diego, Calif.)
Ryan Bice (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Ian Boggs (Zionsville, Ind.)
Andrew Bysice (CAN)
Mauro Cavanha (BRA)
Davide Giardini (Boulder, Colo.)
Kyle Hughes (Carlsbad, Calif.)
Sean Jefferson (Palisades, Calif.)
Bill Jones (La Jolla, Calif.)
Ben Kanute (Tucson, Ariz.)
Nick Karwoski (Hollis, N.H.)
Eric Lagerstrom (Gresham, Ore.)
Alex Libin (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Hunter Lussi (Kensington, Md.)
Brian MacArthur (Tucson, Ariz.)
Joe Maloy (Wildwood Crest, N.J.)
Conor Murphy (IRL)
John O'Neill (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Patrick Parish (Bloomington, Minn.)
Jason Pedersen (Simi Valley, Calif.)
Tyler Rodgers (Coto De Caza, Calif.)
Justin Roeder (Fishers, Ind.)
Aaron Royle (AUS)
Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.)
Felt Trapper (Mammoth Lakes, Calif.)
Felipe Van de Wyngard (CHI)
Alan Webb (Beaverton, Ore.)
Tommy Zaferes (Soquel, Calif.)

Prize Purse

Awarded to top 15 male and female athletes
Overall Purse

 1  $10,000
 2  $5,000
 3  $4,000
 4  $3,000
 5  $2,100
 6  $1,800
 7  $1,550
 9  $700
 10  $575
 11  $450
 12  $375
 13  $300
 15  $175
Total M/F Purse

U.S. Purse
 1  $1,500
 2  $1,250
 3  $1,000
 Total M/F Purse

Combined Purse
 Overall Purse
 U.S. Purse
 Total Budget

Schedule (all times Pacific)
7 a.m. – Venue Opens
7:30 a.m. – Race Course Opens (Athlete Warm Up)
8:30 a.m. – Female Heat 1
9 a.m. – Female Heat 2
9:30 a.m. – Female Heat 3
10 a.m. – Male Heat 1
10:30 a.m. – Male Heat 2
11 a.m. – Male Heat 3
4:30 p.m. – Race Course Opens (Athlete Warm Up)
6 p.m. – Female B Final
7 p.m. – Male B Final
8 p.m. – Female A Final
9 p.m. – Male A Final
10 p.m. – Awards Presentation
10:15 p.m. – Athlete Autograph Signing
10:30 p.m. – Event Concludes 

A Finals
Top three from each heat, fastest fourth place gets the 10th spot.

B Finals
Fourth, fifth and sixth in each heat then the fastest two times. 


  • International draft-legal rules will apply.
  • Event briefing will be posted at

For more information please email

Media inquiries may be directed to

About The Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix
The Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix is the most exciting, high-performance and spectator-friendly triathlon event to be introduced to the U.S. The race format delivers an experience beyond anything that currently exists in the sport of triathlon and promotes the world’s best short-course professional athletes to both triathlon and mainstream fans in a comprehensive and inspirational fashion. The fast-action racing features a multiple lap format that puts spectators in the middle of the action while athletes push themselves to their limits. The Super Sprint Triathlon Grand Prix is a platform for professional athletes to showcase their explosive speed, stamina and bike handling skills on technical courses while giving spectators the opportunity to see some of the world's best athletes race elbow-to-elbow in a self-contained venue.