Thinking of Joining USA Triathlon?

Be a part of our 550,000 member community of multisport athletes. Membership benefits include a subscription to the quarterly USA Triathlon magazine, discounts from USA Triathlon partners, inclusion in the national rankings, excess accident insurance at events, and savings at races. To see why you should join or renew today, visit the membership benefits page. Already a member? Login below.

Forgot Password  |  Forgot Member ID  |  Help Renew Membership Become a Member

Featured Poll

When do you train on summer weekdays?

Timothy O'Donnell was the top U.S. elite finisher on Saturday at the GoPro Ironman World Championship.
photo: Paul Phillips/Competitive Image

O'Donnell, Snow Lead Americans at GoPro Ironman World Championship

American age-groupers win 12 world titles


(0 votes)

The 35th year of Kona wrapped up in one of the closest championship races that the race has seen. The U.S. combined for a total of four top-ten elite finishes led by Timothy O’Donnell and Caitlin Snow, while 12 U.S. age-groupers won world titles at the event.

The men’s leader was Frederik Van Lierde of Belgium with a finishing time of 8:12:29 while Australian Mirinda Carfrae broke her own record on the run to take first in the women’s field with a time of 8:52:14, setting a new overall course record in the process.

Rounding out the podium for the men was Luke McKenzie of Australia in second and German Sebastian Kienle in third. For the women, Great Britain’s Rachel Joyce took second and fellow Briton Liz Blatchford came in third.

Brandon Marsh (Austin, Texas) led the field out of the water with a 50:51 swim but the deep field behind him was not far back. Immediately on the bike, cycling powerhouse Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda, Ill.) moved to the front and pushed the pace with the chase pack in pursuit. Starykowicz holds the record for the fastest Ironman bike split and he met these standards by posting the fastest bike split of the day. Nearing the final leg of the bike, McKenzie and Kienle closed the gap on Starykowicz heading into T2. 

O’Donnell (Boulder, Colo.) had a well-rounded swim and bike but really hit his stride on the run. He closed in on several men in the field with a strong back half to the marathon. O’Donnell was the top U.S. male finisher, taking 5th in a time of 8:22:25.

In the women’s race, Amanda Stevens (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Meredith Kessler (San Francisco, Calif.) were in the lead pack out of the water, with Georgia swimmer Haley Chura (Atlanta, Ga.) leading the charge. Kessler moved herself toward the front over the course of the 112-mile bike leg.

Coming into T2, Carfrae hit the gas and close the 8-minute gap over the first half of the run and never looked back. Snow (Brockton, Mass.) also made up significant time with her sub-3 hour marathon. She ran into sixth place in a time of 9:10:12 with Kessler close behind in 9:10:19. Linsey Corbin (Missoula, Mont.) had a well-rounded day with a strong marathon to take her into tenth place with a time of 9:17:22.

2013 GoPro Ironman World Championship
2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike, 26.2-mile run

Complete Results

1. Frederik Van Lierde (BEL), 8:12:29
2. Luke McKenzie (AUS), 8:15:19
3. Sebastian Kienle (GER), 8:19:24
4. James Cunnama (RSA), 8:21:46
5. Timothy O’Donnell (Boulder, Colo.), 8:22:25

6. Ivan Rana (ESP), 8:23:43
7. Tyler Butterfield (BER), 8:24:09
8. Bart Aernouts (BEL), 8:25:38
9. Timo Bracht (GER), 8:26:32
10. Faris Al-Sultan (GER), 8:32:13
15.  Ben Hoffman (Boulder, Colo.), 8:36:25
18. Matthew Russell (Ogdensburg, N.Y.), 8:39:59

19. Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda, Ill.), 8:43:00
20. TJ Tollakson (Des Moines, Iowa), 8:43:56

22. Brandon Marsh (Austin, Texas), 8:45:11
37. Ian Mikelson (Torrance, Calif.), 9:19:13

39. Thomas Gerlach
(Tucson, Ariz.), 9:28:02

1. Mirinda Carfrae (AUS), 8:52:14
2. Rachel Joyce (GBR), 8:57:28
3. Liz Blatchford (GBR), 9:03:35
4. Yvonne Van Vlerken (NED), 9:04:34
5. Caroline Steffen (SUI), 9:09:09
Caitlin Snow (Brockton, Mass.), 9:10:12
7. Meredith Kessler (San Francisco, Calif.), 9:10:19

8. Michelle Vesterby (DEN), 9:11:13
9. Gina Crawford (NZL), 9:14:47
10. Linsey
Corbin (Missoula, Mont.), 9:17:22
11. Amanda Stevens (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
, 9:17:57
13. Jessie Donavan (Cornwall, Vt.), 9:25:16

16. Elizabeth Lyles (Reno, Nev.), 9:32:54
17. Amy Marsh (Austin, Texas), 9:35:29

20. Jennie Hansen (Rochester, N.Y.), 9:37:29
22. Kim Schwabenbauer (Knox, Pa.), 9:45:08

23. Ashley Clifford (Carmel, Ind.), 9:49:49
24. Haley Chura (Atlanta, Ga.), 9:55:00

Nearly 2,100 age-group athletes lined up at the bay in Kona on Saturday with several U.S. athletes winning their division. American age-group winners at the 2013 Ironman World Championship:

Female 18-24: Samantha Morrison (Goldsboro, N.C.), 9:38:26
Female 40-44: Susanne Davis (Carlsbad, Calif.), 9:41:40
Female 45-49: Lisbeth Kenyon (Barrington, R.I.), 10:03:26
Female 55-59: Jeni Winegarner (Kailua-Kona, Hawaii), 10:33:10
Female 70-74: Cheryl Woodworth (Pewaukee, Wis.), 15:47:37
Female 75-79: Harriett Anderson (San Carlos, Calif.), 16:56:51
Female HC: Minda Dentler (New York, N.Y.), 14:39:14
Male 25-29: Clay Emge (Tyler, Texas), 8:47:36
Male 60-64: Oakes Ames (New Canaan, Conn.), 10:19:08
Male 65-69: William Wren (Arlington, Va.), 10:44:31
Male 75-59: John Weber (New York, N.Y.), 15:54:08
Male PC: Eric McElvenny (San Diego, Calif.), 11:54:29