Thinking of Joining USA Triathlon?

Be a part of our 550,000 member community of multisport athletes. Membership benefits include a subscription to the quarterly USA Triathlon magazine, discounts from USA Triathlon partners, inclusion in the national rankings, excess accident insurance at events, and savings at races. To see why you should join or renew today, visit the membership benefits page. Already a member? Login below.

Forgot Password  |  Forgot Member ID  |  Help Renew Membership Become a Member

Featured Poll

When do you train on summer weekdays?

jared shoemaker
Paul Phillips/Competitive Image
photo: Competitive Image

McLarty, Shoemaker Top the Podium at the USA Triathlon Super Sprint in Milwaukee

Top finishers earned a share of a $4,950 prize purse


(0 votes)

MILWAUKEE — Sara McLarty and Jarrod Shoemaker raced their way to the top of the podium at the USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series Milwaukee on Aug. 9 in conjunction with the USA Triathlon Age Group National Championships weekend.

The race showcased the draft-legal talents of over 30 elite and junior elite athletes, held on and around the grounds of the Milwaukee Art Museum and Discovery World. The athletes completed two continuous circuits of the same course, including a 325-meter swim, 4-kilometer bike and 1.5-kilometer run. The top three men’s and women’s finishers received a share of the prize purse of $4,950.

McLarty (Clermont, Fla.) logged a time of 37 minutes, 51 seconds to earn the win, finishing 40 seconds ahead of Abby Geurink (Hudsonville, Mich.), who took second in 38:31. Zara Guinard (Salt Lake City, Utah) rounded out the podium, finishing third in 40:17.

Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.) bested the field with a time of 33:19, five seconds ahead of Darr Smith (Atlanta, Ga.) who finished second in 33:24. Alex Libin (Colorado Springs, Colo.) was third in 33:36.

In the women’s race, it was clear from the beginning that McLarty’s strong swim and bike skills would have an impact on the field. She took a quick lead, but Geurink was able to close the gap on the first run. McLarty then dropped the hammer in the second half to win.

“The crowds were amazing. They planned this out perfectly with nationals and everybody stuck around and lined the entire course — like 5 deep or 10 deep in places,” McLarty said. “The other thing for me was seeing all the future junior girls who are our next generation of pros, and it’s fantastic to see them out there doing great.”

Early in the men’s race, most of the field was within a few seconds, but spread out at the start of the second swim.  Shoemaker and Smith broke away and came into transition together to start the final run leg. With 1.5k to go in the race, Shoemaker’s run put him in the lead, finishing ahead of Smith, who is coming off a third-place finish at USA Triathlon Junior Elite Nationals last weekend.

Shoemaker suggested the idea of hosting a super sprint race at Age Group Nationals as an opportunity to showcase elite and junior elite triathletes.

“It was great because people could hang around after their race or when they dropped off their bikes,” Shoemaker said. “It’s an absolutely beautiful venue. It was hard; it was fun; it was fast. I don’t think I could have asked for anything more.”

The USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series was launched in 2013 to showcase an exciting new format for the sport in the United States. The 2014 series will continue on Sept. 11 with the USA Triathlon Elite Sprint National Champions in Las Vegas, on Sept. 11.  The event will be televised nationally by Universal Sports Network on Oct. 1 at 8 p.m. ET. More information on the USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series is available at

USA Triathlon Super Sprint Series Milwaukee
325m swim, 4k bike, 1.5k run x2 

1. Sara McLarty (Clermont, Fla.), 37:51
2. Abby Geurink (Hudsonville, Mich.), 38:31
3. Zara Guinard (Salt Lake City, Utah), 40:17
4. Samantha Kennedy (East Lansing, Mich.), 40:35
5. Savannah Wayner (Dicky Beach, Queensland), 40:51
6. Phelan Purnell (Pewaukee, Wis.), 41:14
7. Heidi Stimac (Geneva, Ill.), 41:32
8. Victoria Clinton (Elburn, Ill.), 41:44 
DNF Haele Jasen (Belgium, Wis.)

1. Jarrod Shoemaker (Clermont, Fla.), 33:19
2. Darr Smith (Atlanta, Ga.), 33:24
3. Alex Libin (Colorado Springs, Colo.), 33:36
4. Ben Collins (Chicago, Ill.), 34:01
5. Andrew Starykowicz (Wauconda , Ill.), 34:06
6. Justin Roeder (Fishers, Ind.), 34:29
7. James Thorp (Toledo, Ohio), 34:40
8. Nickolaus Early (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), 34:48
9. Tucker Creger (Shelbyville, Ky.), 34:48
10. Alec Wilimovsky (Malibu, Calif.), 35:01
11. Max Bennett (Parker, Colo.), 35:04
DNF Cooper Langanis (Cary, Ill.), Tyler Rodgers (Coto de Caza, Calif.), Robbie Deckard (Indianapolis, Ind.), Dillon Nobbs (La Verne, Calif.), Tyson Wieland (Johnston, Iowa), Jack Hiniker (Edina, Minn.), Alexander Thomas (St. Charles, Ill.), Cullen Goss (Athens, Ga.), Jake McEneaney (Naperville, Ill.), Chris Sweet (Lexington, Ill.), Ryan Rau (Milford, Mich.), Alex Hernandez (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

About USA Triathlon
USA Triathlon is proud to serve as the National Governing Body for triathlon, as well as duathlon, aquathlon, aquabike, winter triathlon, off-road triathlon and paratriathlon in the United States. Founded in 1982, USA Triathlon sanctions more than 4,300 races and connects with nearly 500,000 members each year, making it the largest multisport organization in the world. In addition to its work with athletes, coaches and race directors on the grassroots level, USA Triathlon provides leadership and support to elite athletes competing at international events, including International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Championships, Pan American Games and the Olympic and Paralympic Games. USA Triathlon is a proud member of the ITU and the United States Olympic Committee (USOC).