Multisport Awards

  • Athletes of the Year
  • Multisport Awards
  • Coaches of the Year
  • Race Director Awards

Each year, elite and age-group multisport athletes are honored for their performances over the past season. USA Triathlon's Age Group Athletes of the Year for triathlon and duathlon are selected by the USA Triathlon Age Group Committee and USA Triathlon Duathlon Committee, respectively. USA Triathlon's Elite Triathletes of the Year, Elite Paratriathletes of the Year and U-23 and Junior Elite Athletes of the Year are selected by the USA Triathlon Athlete Advisory Council.

Duathlete of the Year Criteria (PDF)

Age Group Triathletes of the Year

Age Group Duathletes of the Year

Age Group Multisport Athletes of the Year

Elite, U23 and Junior Elite Triathletes of the Year

Elite Paratriathletes of the Year

The annual USA Triathlon Multisport Awards are awarded to athletes who embody the spirit of the multisport community in categories such as sportsmanship, service to the sport, volunteerism and more.

Multisport Awards Nominations Open NOW

Doug Clark Sportsmanship Award

Doug Clark was a highly-decorated triathlete and a multiple-time National Masters Champion who inspired others through his dedication and commitment to the sport, his humility, his ability to inspire others, his ambassadorship for the sport, and his high standards of ethical behavior both on and off the field of competition.

Volunteer of the Year Award

This award recognizes an individual or organization whose volunteer leadership in the multisport movement has been transformative and who has mobilized and unified athletes, programs and organizations that improve the events, youth or others affiliated with the sport.

Jeff Jewell Spirit Award

This award honors Jeff Jewell, a massage therapist for Team USA from 2001-2009, active triathlete and devoted USAT annual member. He lost his battle with brain cancer on November 15, 2010. He was one of life’s biggest cheerleaders and was an inspiration to everyone he met. The recipient of this award is someone who truly embodies the spirit of Jeff Jewell.

Military Sport Award

This award recognizes the multisport successes achieved by the men and women of the US Armed Forces as they pursue the triathlon lifestyle, while simultaneously meeting the high standards and work ethic required to fulfill their oaths as members of the military community.

Most Inspirational Comeback Award

This award recognizes athletes who have made a comeback to the sport after a traumatic or troublesome personal situation.

Mike Greer Spirit of Multisport Award

This award, which honors Mike Greer, recognizes those individuals who illustrate the principles of the positive spirit of the sport as displayed through acts of sportsmanship and leadership in multisport, with no deference to athletic ability. Mike dedicated his life to multisport an athlete, race director, official, volunteer, author, speaker, coach, mentor, inspiration and innovator acrss a nearly four-decade career. Mike passed away on July 21, 2021.

Service to the Sport Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to USA Triathlon and the multisport lifestyle. These contributions, whether they have been in performance, leadership, volunteerism or mentorship, must demonstrate impact on the multisport lifestyle and support an extended commitment to the sport.

An athlete smiles as she approaches the finish line. The winner's tape is stretched across the finish line.

Each year, USA Triathlon recognizes the best in coaching by honoring USA Triathlon Certified Coaches as USA Triathlon Coach of the Year award winners. The USA Triathlon Coach of the Year Awards are your chance to say thank you and recognize someone who helped you achieve your goal, learn something new, or become the person you want to be through triathlon.

Category winners are determined by a USA Triathlon selection panel of coaching and sport education professionals. Not all categories are awarded each year. 

  • USA Triathlon feels that the full coaching career of the nominee should be considered as often one successful year is not a result of many years of experience.
  • USA Triathlon Certified Coaches are not allowed to “self-nominate” themselves. All nominations must come from associates, colleagues, of the nominee.
  • Award winning coaches will not be eligible for an award in the same category for three years. Example: if a coach wins for 2022, they will not be able to earn the same award until Jan. 1, 2026.

Olympic Coach of the Year

Paralympic Coach of the Year

Developmental Coach of the Year

Volunteer Coach of the Year

Community Impact Award

Service Provider of the Year

College Coach of the Year

Coach Educator of the Year

Participants in the USA Triathlon Foundation's Fantasy Camp huddle up for a team cheer.

 The Heart of the Race Director Awards recognize and celebrate excellence in the USA Triathlon race director community. Through their vision, commitment to multisport sport and their communities, these three race directors have gone above and beyond in their service to the sport.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award is awarded to a race director who has broken the mold and boldly embraced new technology, new race formats and programming to push the boundaries of the sport of triathlon.

Inclusivity Award

The Inclusivity Award is given to a race director who is a leader in the development of inclusive race opportunities at their events.

Collaboration Award

The Collaboration Award is given to a race director who has created an environment of collaboration between their event and local organizations, brands, sponsors, clubs and to help serve their local communities and tackle local issues.